Follow this link to skip to the main content
  NASA Logo
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
California Institute of Technology
+ View the NASA Portal
Search JPL
JPL Home Earth Solar System Stars and Galaxies Technology
JPL Robotics
Search Robotics
Home Page
Image Gallery
Video Gallery
Employee Awards for Fiscal Year 2007



J. (Bob) Balaram - For infusion of DSENDS Entry-Descent-Landing simulation capability to both MSL and Phoenix for landing site selection and final trajectory correction maneuver determination.

Jeffery Hall - For serving as the Concept Study Lead for the ST9 Aerocapture effort, beginning with Pre-Phase A in Jun. 2003 through the completion of Phase A in Nov. 2006. This effort was part of the New Millennium Programs(NMP) competition to be selected as the Space Technology 9 (ST9) Flight Project.


Daniel Helmick - Daniel was the lead author on a team that was awarded the Best Paper Award by the Robotics Society of Japan, for their submission titled Slip-compensated path following for planetary exploration rovers

Andrew Johnson - For technical leadership of JPLs contribution to the JSC Autonomous Landing and Hazard Avoidance Technology (ALHAT) project. This award is joint with JPLs Solar System Mission Formulation Office.

Adnan Ansar - For the AISR proposal win of Detecting Transient Surface Features with Dynamic Landmarking.

Mark Powell - For the AISR proposal win of Tactical Rover-Based Martian Geologic Mapping.

Issa Nesnas - For his oversight of the development and release of the new CLARAty website and CLARAty software.

Joseph Carsten - For testing the radar system for MSL. Joe identified and removed a major bug in the data acquisition system that made the system operational

Paulo Younse, Edward Barlow, Richard Petras - For rover assembly and maintenance efforts, including final development and checkout the new Athena research rover.

Paulo Younse, Robert Steele, Edward Tunstel - For efforts related to the coordination of Section 347 Open House Exhibits.

Daniel Clouse - For his oversight of the organization of a new Computer Vision Laboratory.


Robotics Science Journal Paper Team - Larry Matthies, Yang Cheng, Dan Clouse, Max Bajracharya - Received the Best Paper Award by the Robotics Society of Japan, for their submission entitled, Slip-compensated path following for planetary exploration rovers

MSL Motor Controller Team - Greg Levanas, Hung Tran, Ron Morgan, Thomas McCarthy - For the infusion of the Bread board 5 motor controller for use during engineering development.

CLARAty Team - Hari Nayar, Richard Petras, Rob Steele, Michael McHenry, Daniel Clouse - Final development, documentation, test case creation, and other details to enable the first public release of source code for the Coupled Layer Architecture for Robotic Autonomy (CLARAty).

Privacy/Copyright Image Policy Glossary Sitemap Feedback Contact Us
  National Aeronautics and Space Administration website.